Loading Events

Upcoming Events › Literary Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Events Search

January 2019

Author Event: Kristin Wilson, Others’ Milk

January 24 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Bookshop welcomes Kristin Wilson for a book discussion and signing of her new book, Others' Milk. Breastfeeding rarely conforms to the idealized Madonna-and-baby image seen in old artwork, now re-cast in celebrity breastfeeding photo spreads and pro-breastfeeding ad campaigns. Wilson will be in-conversation with author Liza Monroy. The personal accounts in Others’ Milk illustrate just how messy and challenging and unpredictable it can be—an uncomfortable reality in the contemporary context of high-stakes motherhood in which “successful” breastfeeding proves one’s maternal…

Find out more »

Phren-Z Live Reading featuring Bookshop Santa Cruz Staff

January 29 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Join Santa Cruz’s online literary magazine phren-Z, which will host local writers from our very own Bookshop Santa Cruz staff as they read their new and recent work, featured in phren-Z’s upcoming issue. phren-Z is a publication of Santa Cruz Writes, a grass roots organization dedicated to promoting the local literary community. Santa Cruz Writes is a sponsored project of the William James Association, a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation. See the full listing here: http://ow.ly/RbaS30njpKc

Find out more »

February 2019

Santa Cruz County Poetry Out Loud competitions

February 6 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

An initiative of the National Endowment for the Arts, administered statewide by the California Arts Council, Poetry Out Loud encourages high school students to learn about poetry through memorization, performance, and competition. Participants master public speaking skills, build self-confidence, and learn about literary history and contemporary life. This event will showcase our Santa Cruz County high school student finalists in their final competition before going on to the state level! Participating High Schools include: Watsonville High School Pajaro Valley High…

Find out more »

Author Event: Pam Houston, Deep Creek

February 7 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Bookshop Santa Cruz is delighted to welcome award-winning author Pam L. Houston (Cowboys Are My Weakness) for a reading and signing of her new memoir, Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country, which tells the remarkable story of “that girl who dared herself to buy a ranch, dared herself to dig in and care for it, to work hard enough to pay for it, to figure out what other people meant when they used the world ‘home.”’ At 31…

Find out more »

Author Event: Ocean Robbins, 31-Day Food Revolution

February 10 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Bookshop welcomes Ocean Robbins for a discussion and signing of his new book, 31-Day Food Revolution, a guide to liberation from a toxic food world. 31-Day Food Revolution is a 4-part plan for helping people to contribute to more healthy, sustainable, humane, and delicious food for all. Part one, Detoxify, focuses on getting rid of unhealthy foods. Part two, Nourish, focuses on reaping the benefits of outstanding nutrition. Part three, Gather, focuses on building a healthy food community. And part…

Find out more »

Author Event: Tara Conklin, The Last Romantics

February 13 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings. “Tara Conklin is a generous writer who deftly brings us into the world of this fictional family, an engrossing and vivid place where I was happy to stay. The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming.” —Meg Wolitzer "The greatest works of poetry, what makes each…

Find out more »

Author Event: Marlon James, Black Leopard, Red Wolf

February 18 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Bookshop Santa Cruz is thrilled to welcome award-winning author Marlon James, Novelist for a reading and signing of his highly-anticipated novel, Black Leopard, Red Wolf, which is already being touted as a book that "will come to be seen as a classic of our times." (NPR) "A fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made." —Neil Gaiman The epic novel, an African Game of Thrones, from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of A Brief History of Seven Killings. In the…

Find out more »

Author Event: Andrea Nguyen, Vietnamese Food Any Day

February 26 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Bookshop is thrilled to welcome back award-winning culinary writer Andrea Nguyen for a discussion and signing of her new book, Vietnamese Food Any Day. Delicious, fresh Vietnamese food is achievable any night of the week with this cookbook's 80 accessible, easy recipes. Recipe samplings will be served at this FREE event. Drawing on decades of experience, as well as the cooking hacks her mom adopted after fleeing from Vietnam to America, award-winning author Andrea Nguyen shows you how to use…

Find out more »
+ Export Events

Sign up for Weekly Updates