City Council to Vote on Significant Actions on Addressing Homelessness

This Tuesday evening, The seven member City Council is poised to determine significant direction regarding a number of issues relating to Homeless Services, Emergency Housing, the so called Gateway Encampment and regulation of public space and overnight parking.

A clearly divided council will review 4 separate and conflicting motions each with numerous elements for review.

Among actions being considered are:

  • Declaring a shelter crisis and a local emergency
  • Ending enforcement of overnight parking restrictions on Delaware Avenue between Swift Street and Shaffer Road.
  • The Council will also hear a report on the implementation of the City / County Joint Action Plan for Emergency Shelter Provision and Encampment Management and other policy and action items directed by the City Council on February 12, 2019 related to homelessness, and take action as appropriate.

The action items are significant and will greatly determine the direction of city resources and the city’s general approach to managing and providing support to the complicated issues of homelessness.

The Agenda Report is here:
http://scsire.cityofsantacruz.com/sirepub/cache/2/3anqgec5ghbssokyfmvfoug3/48061620222201908453936.PDF

You are encouraged to read the full report and the proposed actions in each of the 4 motions and be informed.

There are more supporting documents that can be accessed here, by scrolling down to the 7:00pm session.

http://scsire.cityofsantacruz.com/sirepub/mtgviewer.aspx?meetid=1163&doctype=AGENDA

To voice your opinion you can email Citycouncil@cityofsantacruz.com

or individually:

Mayor Martine Watkins
809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 420-5024 City Hall
Email: mwatkins@cityofsantacruz.com
Current Term Expires:  December 2020

Vice Mayor Justin Cummings
809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 420-5020 City Hall
Email:  jcummings@cityofsantacruz.com
Current Term Expires:  December 2022

Sandy Brown 
809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 420-5028 City Hall
Email:  sbrown@cityofsantacruz.com
Current Term Expires:  December 2020

Drew Glover
809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 420-5020 City Hall
Email: dglover@cityofsantacruz.com
Current Term Expires:  December 2022

Chris Krohn
809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 420-5022 City Hall
Email: ckrohn@cityofsantacruz.com
Term Expires:  December 2020

Cynthia Mathews
809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 420-5027 City Hall
(831) 423-8977 Residence
Email:  cmathews@cityofsantacruz.com
Current Term Expires:  December 2020

Donna Meyers
809 Center Street, Room 10
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 420-5020 City Hall
Email:  dmeyers@cityofsantacruz.com
Current Term Expires:  December 2022

 

Sign up for Weekly Updates