Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Author Event: Tara Conklin, The Last Romantics

February 13 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings. “Tara Conklin is a generous writer who deftly brings us into the world of this fictional family, an engrossing and vivid place where I was happy to stay. The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming.” —Meg Wolitzer

“The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we’ve read and watched and witnessed. Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions. We tell these stories until we believe them.”

When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.

It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings–fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona–emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love.

A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose–and sometimes rescue–the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories–how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.

This free event will take place at Bookshop Santa Cruz. Chairs for open seating are usually set up about an hour before the event begins and is comprised of a book discussion and book signing. If you have an ADA accommodation request, please email info@bookshopsantacruz.com by February 11th.

Tara Conklin has worked as a litigator in the New York and London offices of a corporate law firm but now devotes her time to writing fiction. She received a BA in history from Yale University, a JD from New York University School of Law, and a Master of Arts in Law and Diplomacy from the Fletcher School at Tufts University. Born in St. Croix, she grew up in Massachusetts and now lives with her family in Seattle, Washington.

Details

Date:
February 13
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/437992816740694/

Venue

Bookshop Santa Cruz
1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Sign up for Weekly Updates